The Uncle Remus Museum
The Uncle Remus Museum is located in Turner Park, three blocks south of the courthouse on Highway 441 in downtown Eatonton. Turner Park was part of the original homestead of Joseph Sidney Turner, the “Little Boy” in the tales of Uncle Remus. The museum consists of a log cabin made from three slave cabins originating in Putnam County. The cabins are similar to the one occupied by Uncle Remus, the character made famous in the folklore tales of Joel Chandler Harris.
The stories of Uncle Remus are captured in shadow boxes containing delicate woodcarvings of “de critters” humanized by the author. The shadow boxes illustrate twelve of Harris’ best known stories. The museum also features painted murals that authentically depict the years surrounding the Civil War during which the Uncle Remus stories are set. A focal point of the museum is the two pictures from the movie “Song of the South” donated by Walt Disney when the museum opened in 1963.
The museum is open daily, Monday through Saturday, from 10:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. (closed 12-1 for lunch) and open Sunday from 1:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m.
Adults (13+) $5; Seniors (65+) & Students (with ID) $3; Children (5 and under) free with each paid adult admission. Children under 12 must be accompanied by an adult. Family rate of 5 or more $3.00 each.
Located at 214 Oak Street, Eatonton, GA 31024.
For more information call (706) 485-6856 or visit http://www.uncleremusmuseum.org/.
Old School History Museum
Visitors will step back in time as they enter the Old School History Museum, located in The Plaza Arts Center adjacent to the Chamber of Commerce. Housed in four classrooms of the original 1916 Eatonton School, the museum is able to feature four different, yet historically relevant exhibits for tourists to enjoy. The first exhibit displays a vintage drugstore complete with marble-topped soda fountain, 1940’s jukebox, ice cream chairs and tables and period photographs. The next room is a reproduction of turn-of-the-century downtown Eatonton with a variety of storefronts. These “windows in time” feature artifacts and treasures destined to stir childhood memories. The third space reveals a history gallery that relates the rich heritage of Eatonton and Putnam County. Here visitors can follow a timeline and view artifacts from the area’s earliest Indians, learn about Sherman’s March through Putnam during the Civil War, and be amazed by the famous people who have called Eatonton home.Finally, a carefully restored early 1900’s classroom which boasts its original blackboard, cloakroom, vintage desks and a collection of student memorabilia concludes the Old School Museum.
Hours of Operation:
Monday – Friday, 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Docent Tours, Saturday, 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Docent Tours, Sunday, 2 p.m. – 4 p.m.
Closed on Holidays
Located at 305 N. Madison Avenue, Eatonton, GA 31024.
Georgia Writers Museum
The Georgia Writers Museum promotes the rich, literary heritage of the state. Of the 46 authors in the Georgia Writers Hall of Fame, nine are from within 30 miles of Putnam County. Permanent exhibits honor the three most famous local authors, Alice Walker, Flannery O’Connor and Joel Chandler Harris. Works and artifacts of the other authors will be featured in the museum on a rotation basis. For more information visit http://www.georgiawritersmuseum.com/
Friday & Saturday 10a.m.-5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m.-5 p.m. or by Appointment ** Please call 706.816.1584 with questions or to schedule an appointment
The Alice Walker Driving Tour
Alice Walker, author of the award-winning novel “The Color Purple,” was born in Eatonton on February 9, 1944. Eatonton celebrates the author with the Alice Walker Driving Tour that takes you past several important places in Walker’s life. Those places include the church she was baptized in and faithfully attended, Wards Chapel A.M.E. Church. As well as located across the street is Wards Chapel Cemetery where her parents, Willie Lee Walker and Minnie Tallulah Grant Walker are buried. Just past the cemetery is her childhood home. Inside, a room is dedicated to the Walker Family and includes items from the time period.
The Alice Walker Driving Tour brochure is available at the Visitors Center and gives a timeline of important events in Walker’s life.
Rock Eagle and Rock Hawk Effigies
The Rock Eagle and Rock Hawk Effigies are the only effigies of this kind east of the Mississippi River. The rock monuments are made up of milky quartz rocks and are in the shapes of birds. Rock Eagle measures 120 feet wing tip to wing tip and 102 feet from head to tail. The mound is eight feet tall at the breast. Rock Hawk measures 132 feet wing tip to wing tip and 100 feet head to forked tail. The mounds built approximately 2,000 years ago by Native Americans. Both sites are free to the viewing public and are open from sun up to sun down.
Rock Eagle may be viewed at the Rock Eagle 4-H camp which has spacious parking, picnic tables and an observation tower to view the effigy. For more information on Rock Eagle 4-H camp, call (706) 484-2800 or visit www.rockeagle4h.org.
Rock Hawk is located off Hwy 16 along the Historic Piedmont Scenic Byway. Rock Hawk Park offers an outdoor classroom with over 20 miles of hiking and biking trails. Two observation tours give visitors a bird’s eye view of the Effigy and local wildlife. There is also an archery range available for archers, bow hunters, youth groups and others interested in perfecting their target skills; users should bring their own equipment. For more information on Rock Hawk Park, Effigy & Trails visit, rockhawk.org.
Veterans Wall of Honor
Drop by The Veterans Wall of Honor to enjoy a picnic and step back in time. You are sure to find a name you recognize tiled to one of the six walls, which were dedicated in Novemer of 2014 for families of the community to visit and honor loved ones who served in the amed forces. The American Legion and Members of VFW raised all the money to build this park after being given the land from the county. It was designed so additional veterans’ names can be added in the future. This is done approximately twice per year. The adjacent pavillion and park area was dedicated on Veterans Day of 2015. This project worked to bring the entire community together and beautify downtown. This area is free and open for the public’s use.
Historic Downtown Eatonton
Eatonton has a beautiful, well preserved historical district in downtown. The residential section of the historic district of the city features over 100 antebellum and Victorian era structures, as well as many historic commercial buildings. The historic district also boasts several high style examples of Greek revival, Queen Anne, Folk Victorian and Gothic Revival homes.
Stop by the Visitors Center and pick up an Eatonton Self-Guided Historic Walking Tour brochure, which showcases over 60 historic homes and buildings throughout Eatonton.
The Historic Piedmont Scenic Byway follows Hwy 16 through Putnam County. It follows a route once known as the Okfuskee trail, an Indian trail connecting what is now Charleston, S.C. with the Mississippi River.
Almost every tourist site in Putnam County falls along the Historic Piedmont Scenic Byway. Follow the road and see Rock Eagle, Rock Hawk, pristine countryside, Eatonton’s historic downtown, historic homes and churches. Brochures listing the attractions along the scenic byway may be found at the Visitors Center. For more information visit www.scenicbyway.org.